The Oresteia, 1993

Memory theatre (opera) in 7 parts based on Aeschylus’ trilogy for 6 voices, 11 musicians and dancer. The unappeased spirits of Cassandra, Clytemnestra, Agamemnon & The Furies rise through the floor. Libretto by Liza Lim & Barrie Kosky after Tony Harrison’s translation.

The Oresteia (1991-93)     Shopping_Cart_Rounded_Solid-512.png   BUY CD  LIM CDs
Memory theatre (opera) in 7 parts after Aeschylus
For 6 voices, 11 instruments and dancer
Libretto by Liza Lim and Barrie Kosky after Aeschylus, Sappho and Tony Harrison (in English)
For soprano, 2 mezzo soprano (mezzo soprano 2 also plays stage ‘cello), counter tenor, tenor, baritone & dancer (also vocalising)
Fl/Picc, Ob/Cor Ang, Cl/Bass Cl – Tpt/Picc Tpt, Tbn – Turkish Baglama Saz
(played by mandolinist), Electric Guitar – Perc – Vla/Vla d’amore, Vc, D bass
Duration: 75′, Score (136022), Ricordi Milano

Commissioned by ELISION
Premiere: 16 May 1993, Theatreworks, Melbourne (14 performances)
ELISION Ensemble and Treason of Images, conductor Sandro Gorli.
Singers: Jeannie van de Velde, Julie Edwardson, Deborah Kayser, Andrew Muscat Clark, Tyrone Landau, Grant Smith; dancer: Shelley Lasica
Directed by Barry Kosky, stage designer Peter Corrigan, choreographer Shelley Lasica


1. 7 Positions Of A Memory Theatre (Cassandra’s Dream Song)
2. Memory Spills From The Split Skulls Of Clytemnestra And Agamemnon
3. Cassandra-The Banquet
4. The Furies
5. Clytemnestra’s Ghost
6. Apollo’s Masque (The Missing ‘Satyr Play’)
7. Athena’s Trumpet

Score sample from the Australian Music Centre website
Programme note from score

This slideshow requires JavaScript.