(also with instrumental soloists)

all works published by Casa Ricordi; see contacts

The Alchemical Wedding (1996)     Shopping_Cart_Rounded_Solid-512.png     Unknown.png
For chamber orchestra (22 musicians)
2Fl/Picc, 2Ob (2. Cor Ang), Cl eflat, Cl bflat, Bass Cl, Bsn/Cbsn, Alto Sax –
Hn, 2Tpt, Tbn – Perc. Angklung – Hp – Er-hu (Chinese Vln), 2Vln. 3Vc
Duration: 18′
Commissioned by ELISION and Ensemble Modern
Premiere: 30 October 1996 Melbourne, Melbourne International Festival
Elision Ensemble and Ensemble Modern, conductor Dominique My
Score (137517), Ricordi Milano

The Compass (2005-06)     Unknown.png     Unknown-1.png

For large orchestra with solo flute & didgeridoo
Flute solo (Picc/Bass Fl); didgeridoo solo (both soloists are amplified)
4Fl (3.4.picc) 3Ob, Cor Ang, Cl eflat, 2 Cl b flat, Bass Cl, 3Bsn, Cbsn-
4Hn, 4Tpt, 4Tbn (4.tenor-bass), Tuba – 3Perc – Piano – Strings
Duration: 25′
Jointly commissioned by Sydney Symphony and Bayerischer Rundfunk
Premiere: 17 May 2006, Sydney Opera House
Sydney Symphony, didgeridoo, William Barton, flute, Rosamund Plummer
conducted by Alexander Briger
Score (RICL058), Ricordi London

Ecstatic Architecture (2004)
For large orchestra
Picc. 3Fl (1.Picc, 2.3. Bass Fl), 3 Ob, Cor Ang, 2Cl, 2Bass Cl, 2Bsn, 2 Cbsn –
4 Hn, 3 Tpt, 3 Tbn (1. Alto Tbn), Bass Tbn, Bass Tuba, 3Perc, Harp, Strings.
Duration: 25′
Commissioned by the Los Angeles Philharmonic
Premiere: 28 May 2004, Los Angeles, Walt Disney Concert Hall
Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra, conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen
Score (139202), Ricordi Milano

Flying Banner (after Wang To) (2005)     Unknown.png     Unknown-1.png
Fanfare for orchestra
2Picc, 1Fl, 2Ob, Cor Ang, Cl eflat, Cl b flat, Bass Cl, 2Bsn, Cbsn-2Hn, Picc Tpt, Tpt,
2Tbn, Bass Tbn – Timp – 1Perc (5 Chinese gongs, 3 wood blocks, 2 temple blocks,
high tom-tom)-Strings
Duration: 9′
Commissioned by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra
Premiere: 8 March 2006, Sydney Opera House
Sydney Symphony conducted by Gianluigi Gelmetti
Score (RICL057), Ricordi London

The Guest (2010)     Unknown.png     Unknown-1.png  
recorder concerto; for solo recorder and orchestra
Solo: Baroque alto, Tenor Ganassi, Bassett recorders
2 (2 Picc. Afl). 2 (Eh). 1. Bkl (Kbkl). 1. Kfg. – 2 . 2. Picctr. 2 (Aps). Eu. 0. –
3 Schlzg Cimbalom – 6. 6. 6. 6. 3.
Commissioned by Donaueschinger Musiktage. Premiere: 15.Oct. 2010,
SWR Orchester cond. Rupert Huber, Jeremias Schwarzer, recorders
Duration: ca. 20′
Sy. 4062, Ricordi Munich

Immer fliessender (2004)
For large orchestra
Picc, 3Fl, 3Ob, Cor Ang, Cl eflat, 3Cl in A, Bass Cl, 3Bsn, Cbsn-
4Hn, 3Tpt, 3Tbn, Bass Tuba – 2Timp, 2Perc – 2Harp – Strings
Duration: 8½’
Commissioned by the Sydney Symphony as a companion piece to Mahler’s Ninth Symphony.
A project of the orchestra’s composer-in-residence programme supported
by Symphony Australia with funding from the Australia Council.
Premiere: 18 May 2005, Sydney Opera House
Sydney Symphony conducted by Gianluigi Gelmetti.
Score (RICL051), Ricordi London

Machine for Contacting the Dead (1999-2000)     Shopping_Cart_Rounded_Solid-512.png     Unknown.png  
For 27 musicians including 2 soloists (Bass Cl/Cbass Cl & Vc)
Bass Fl/picc, Fl/picc, 2 Ob (2. Cor Ang), 2 Cl in A, Bass Cl/Cbass (soloist), Bsn, Cbsn –
Hn, 2 Tpt, Alto Tbn, Tbn, Tuba – 3 Perc – Harp, Piano – 2 Vln, 2 Vla, 2 Vc (1. soloist), D bass
Duration: 38′
Commissioned by the Ensemble Intercontemporain
Premiere: 20 February 2000, Paris, Cité de la Musique,
Ensemble Intercontemporain, Alain Billard (Bass Cl/Cbass Cl),
Pierre Strauch (Violoncello), conductor Jonathan Nott
Score (138702), Ricordi Milano

Pearl, Ochre, Hair String (2010)     Unknown.png    Unknown-1.png
for orchestra
2, Picc., 2, Engl. Horn, 1, Bass Cl., 2, Contrabass Cl. – 4, 3, 2, Bass Tbn. 1 –
Timp., 2, Perc. – Strings
Duration: 18′
Commissioned by the BRF and West Australian Symphony Orchestra with the support of the Ian Potter Foundation. Premiere: München, 9.7.2010, Sinfonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks cond. Lothar Zagrosek, Musica Viva season
Sy. 4041, Ricordi Munich

Sappho/ Bioluminescence (2020)
for orchestra
Part 1 of Annunciation Triptych
2, Picc., 2, cor ang. 2. bass cl., 2. c bsn. – 4, 3, 2, Bass Tbn. 1 – timp, 2 perc. – harp – Strings
Duration: 15-16′
Co-commissioned by BBC Radio 3 and Westdeutscher Rundfunk
Ricordi Berlin

World as Lover, World as Self (2021)
piano concerto
solo piano + flute (piccolo), oboe (cor anglais), clarinet (bass clarinet), bassoon (contraforte), horn, trumpet, trombone, 1 percussion, violin 1, violin 2, viola, ‘cello, double bass (minimum string numbers:
Duration: 21′
Commissioned by Donauechinger Musiktage 2021 for the Centenary Festival.
Premiere: 16 October 2021, Mozart Saal, Donauhalle
Tamara Stefanovich (piano solo) with the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg conducted by Ilan Volkov